Porirua Harbour Trust


The Porirua Harbour (Te Awarua-o-Porirua) catchment includes all of that area of Wellington and Porirua City where water flows via streams, lagoons and lakes into the Porirua Harbour.

This includes the Johnsonville, Churton Park and Tawa catchments that flow down Porirua Stream and its many tributaries;

    1. The Whitby, Judgeford, Pauatahanui and Paekaeriki Hill catchments that flow into the Pauatahanui Inlet;
    2. The streams in Kenepuru, Elsdon, Porirua East, Takapuwahia and Titahi Bay that flow into the Onepoto Arm;
    3. Pukerua Bay and Plimmerton that flow into the Harbour Entrance;
    4. Aotea, Papakowhai that flow through the lagoons into the harbour.

Clicking on either a catchment name on the upper left, or an underlined link above will enable you to view the catchment you live in and the path the stormwater and runoff travels to get to the sea via the Porirua Harbour. 

This map shows the overall catchment boundary for the Te Awarua-o-Porirua Harbour :

Porirua Harbour Catchment

Email Form close